Welcome!

This is the website for the Spring 2017 offering of CS149 (Intro to Programming Fundamentals) at James Madison University. Specifically, this is the website for section 001 taught by Alvin Chao


Announcements:

Due this week(week15):

  • Wed Apr 26 11:59 Lab 24[Canvas]
  • Fri Apr 28 11:59pm Lab 25 Final Practice[Webcat]

Due this week(week14):

  • Wed Apr 19 11:59pm Lab 23[Webcat]
  • Fri Apr 21 11:59pm SearchExercises.java[Canvas]
  • Fri Apr 21 11:59pm PA6C[Webcat]

Due this week(week13):

  • Wed Apr 12 11:59pm Lab 21[Canvas]
  • Fri Apr 14 11:59pm Lab 22[Canvas]
  • Fri Apr 14 11:59pm Readiness Quiz PA6A[Canvas]
  • Mon Apr 17 11:59pm Test PA6B[Webcat]

Due this week(week12):

  • Mon Apr 3 11:59pm Tests for PA5B[Webcat]
  • Tue Apr 4 8:00am Reading Quiz Chp 10 Think Java [Canvas]
  • Wed Apr 5 11:59pm Lab 19[Canvas]
  • Fri Apr 7 11:59pm Lab 20[Canvas]
  • Fri Apr 7 11:59pm PA5C Coding[Webcat]

Due this week(week11):

  • Tue Mar 28 8:00am Reading Quiz Chp 9 Think Java[Canvas]
  • Wed Mar 29 11:59pm Lab 17[Webcat]
  • Fri Mar 31 11:59pm Lab 18[Coding Bat / Webcat]

Week 10 Exam 2

Due this week(week9):

  • Tue Mar 14 8:00am Reading Quiz Chp 8 Think Java[Canvas]
  • Tue Mar 14 11:59pm Readiness Quiz PA4A Math Dice[Canvas]
  • Wed Mar 15 11:59pm Lab 15[Canvas/Coding Bat]
  • Fri Mar 17 11:59pm Lab 16[Canvas]
  • Mon Mar 20 11:59pm PA4B[Webcat]

Due this week(week8):

  • Tue Feb 28 Reading Quiz Chp 7 Think Java[Canvas]
  • Wed Mar 1 Lab 13[Coding Bat / Canvas]
  • Fri Mar 3 Lab 14[Canvas]

Due this week(week7):

  • TUE FEB 21 8:00am Reading Quiz Chp 6 Think Java[Canvas]
  • WED FEB 22 11:59pm Lab 11 CodingBat[CodingBat]
  • FRI FEB 24 11:59pm Lab12 [Webcat]

Due this week(week6):

  • TUE FEB 14 8:00am Reading Quiz Chp 5 Think Java[Canvas]
  • WED FEB 15 11:59pm Lab 9 BasicMath[Webcat]
  • FRI FEB 16 11:59pm Lab10 CSCard[Webcat]

Due this week(week5):

  • THU FEB 9 Exam1 covers Chp1-4 in Think Java [Canvas/Webcat]

Due this week(week4):

  • TUE JAN 31 8:00am
    • Reading Quiz Chp4 Think Java[Canvas]
  • WED FEB 1 11:59pm
    • Lab 7 Seconds[Webcat]
    • Readiness Quiz PA2A[Canvas]
  • FRI FEB 3 11:59pm
    • Lab 8 Houses[Webcat]
    • PA2B[Webcat]

Due this week(week3):

  • TUE JAN 24 8:00am
    • Reading Quiz Chp3 Think Java[Canvas]
  • WED JAN 25 11:59pm
    • Lab 5 Formatting Output[Canvas]
  • FRI JAN 27 11:59pm
    • Lab 6 Testing Seconds Lab[Webcat]

Due this week(week2):

  • TUE JAN 17 8:00am 
    • Reading Quiz Chapter 2 Think Java
  • WED JAN 18 11:59pm
    • PA1-A Readinesss Quiz for PA1[Canvas]
    • Lab 3 Checkstyle[Webcat]
  • FRI JAN 20 11:59pm
    • Lab 4 Concat and Types[Canvas]
    • PA1[Webcat]

Due this week(week1):

  • BY WED Jan 11:59pm
    • [CANVAS] Course Intro Survey - Wed Jan 11:59pm
    • Lab submission to Canvas for Lab01.txt  - turn in what you have done by Wed midnight.
  • THU JAN 9 8:00am
    • Reading Quiz for Chapter 1 of Think Java  - Thu Jan 9 8:00 am
  • FRI JAN 13 11:59pm
    • Lab02A - Webcat submission.
    • Lab02B - Canvas Submission

Updates

  • Welcome Message!
    • Meeting in ISAT 250 for all classes as well as exams.
    • Text for class listed on syllabus page.
    • Please login to Canvas and complete the course intro survey and through Canvas.  Also log into Piazza from the left nav bar item.

The class meets Tuesdays and Thursdays, starting Tues Jan 10 and ending Thu Apr 27. Class meets in ISAT 250. Please visit the calendar for the week-to-week assignments. 

My Office Locations

Office hours (ISAT 264):  Tues 9:30-10:30
Thu  9:30-10:30

You may schedule an appointment for other times that are not listed to visit my Massanutten 293 office(540)-568-6206

Please use the links to the left to navigate the website. Important announcements will be posted on this front page. Other course content will appear on the subpages linked above. Please check this website (especially the front page and calendar) regularly for updates. 

Piazza

This semester, we will be using Piazza for class discussions. If you have a question that may be of general interest to your fellow students, please post it on Piazza rather than emailing me directly. This allows others to answer your question or benefit from my answer. I will check the Piazza forum regularly and respond as quickly as I can. To access Piazza, log into Canvas and click the "Piazza" link in the navigation bar on the left. 

Class grades will be accessible via Canvas, and online quizzes will be administered using Canvas as well. 


Back to Top