
Robot Game Updates – 31 October 2012 
 
19 - CARGO ON THE PLATFORM This update is to clean up an anti-loophole...  For the 
Transitions mission, the robot can score while it has cargo, as long as the cargo is only 
touching the robot and/or the center platform. 

18 - STOVE BLACK The stove mission does not requre the burners to be flipped "all the 
way."  Just be sure it's quite obvious that an honest flip has occurred, and that the stove is 
overwhelmingly showing the black side, and it will score.   

17 - QUILT ACCESSORIES If you're sending the quilts out, kept together by ANY part, make 
sure you are following Rule 10, Bullet 4, and Rule 11.  

15 - BOWLING PIN BREAKAGE Since it's understood that the bowling pins break easily, 
and this is no one's fault, and that bowling in general is a destructive activity, and that 
breaking a pin in the process of knocking it down doesn't give you any benefit, this update is 
to declare that pin breakage is a non-factor with respect to scoring and with respect to Rule 
22.  Referees will consider the position of the base of a pin, whether or not the pin is broken. 

14 - TWO ORANGE QUILTS ON ONE SCORING REGION   (9-24-12) Both orange quilt 
squares touching a single little (orange-owned) scoring triangle will score.  It's a great idea I 
actually never thought of.  Rule 3, Bullet 3 as well as Rule 26, Bullet 2 point to it being 
allowed, but the wording in the mission itself is apparently a little bit imprecise.  Sorry to those 
of you who thought of this as allowable or questionable on your own - I do try to keep "yes" 
answers to myself, but this question has reached critically high volume, and this means that 
without a ruling here, referee calls would have been predictably inconsistent. 

13 - EXTRA PINWHEEL CLICKS   (9-24-12) If the robot spins the pinwheel past the 
allowable 1 click/90 degrees, the referee will simply un-spin/take back the extras.  No big 
deal. 

12 - BOWLING DISTANCE As long as there's nothing (except usually the mat) touching a 
ball while it hits a pin, it doesn't matter how far away the ball was released.  As long as the 
distance is obviously not zero, there's no particular distance a ball needs to be rolled or 
thrown before it gets to a pin.  Although this is a clean application of Rule 3, Bullet 3, it's 
being questioned a lot.  Just be sure the referee can clearly see that the ball was indeed 
loose.  Don't get so close as to risk an unfavorable call.  

11 - SIMILARITY INTERFERENCE The Similarity mission is not a shared mission for the 
purposes of Rule 24.  This means interference will be called if a robot interacts with the other 
team's Similarity model.  If you participated in the vote on this, thanks very much.  Majority 
was 63%. 

10 - STRAY BALL EFFECTS If a loose ball released from the rack by the other team slides 
or knocks down a bowling pin of yours, that effect is left as-is.  This is legal interference by a 
small but official stretch of Rule 24, Bullet1.  If a loose ball released from the rack by the other 
team moves a medicine bottle, Rule 24 is clear:  This is illegal interference, so Rule 23 takes 
effect. 



9 - CARDIO CHART TYPO? Some people have noticed a 13-point jump between 6-0 and 6-
1 on the cardio mission, where it sure looks like it was supposed to be a 3-point jump...  And 
they want to know...  Is that a typo?  Uhm, er, uh...  No! - I MEANT to do that!  Yeah, that's 
it!  And it's gonna stay that way. 

8 - FIELD BORDER WALL HEIGHT (See Field Setup section for metric dimensions) People 
are seeing that the sample table instructions call for "2x3" lumber for the table border walls 
and thinking they have to make new tables.  Not true.  Notice that the construction diagram 
has a ± symbol!  The allowable RANGE is 3 inches, plus-or-minus a half inch.  …  I would 
just like to slowly move the community toward the shorter border walls because overall they 
are cheaper, lighter, take up less storage space, and allow a better view of the field. 

7 - TOUCH PENALTY, REF ACTION The mission text is wrong/confusing about what the 
referee will do with the cardio model when you get a touch penalty...  So here it is:  The ref 
will move the pinwheel one click counterclockwise as viewed from the north. 

6 - DUAL LOCK Two things:  First, remember to follow the Field Setup section when 
applying Dual Lock.  Changes to the Dual Lock specs were made after the mat went into 
production.  Also, in the Field Setup page, there's conflicting info about how many places to 
put Dual Lock under the similarity model...  Put 4 - one pair at each corner. 

5 - VIDEO MIS-SPEAK REGARDING BONUS D'Oh!  I said in the video that you start out 
with bonus points on the cardio dial to lose.  Not true.  Yes, the dial has room to go 
backwards, but that pre-set isn't charted as a bonus.  

4 - BRINGING EXTRA BALLS You can't bring balls to the field as scoring objects or as 
bowling balls.  However, they are commonly used as caster wheels for the robot and that's 
okay.  This is a custom-boost to Rule 10, Bullet 2. 

3 - PINWHEEL CLICKING The robot has to click the pinwheel directly.  It's not allowed to 
move the dial directly, or defeat the clicker, or do anything else that would stop this mission 
from being a huge time drain. The robot's not even allowed to stay in Base and reach out and 
spin the pinwheel.  If this stuff wasn't clear in the original text, you're being told here.  I do 
love when you guys find loopholes and I love honoring them.  Heck I plant them on purpose 
all the time.  But please - every year there's one mission that's supposed to make the 
challenge impossible to finish. This is for a serious reason.  Leave Base, click once, with or 
without doing other stuff, go back to Base, come back out, click once more, with or without 
doing other stuff, and so on.  The dial must move by pinwheel clicks only and only one per 
outing.  Thank you. 

2 - STRAY BALL REMOVAL Since so many people are asking for it, this Update is providing 
an exception to Rule 21, Bullet 1:  The referee WILL remove any ball from the field (balls 
fallen from the rack, and/or the used bowling ball), if you ask, or you may do it yourself, but it 
will be permanent.  This does not affect your one allowable re-use of your first yellow ball for 
bowling. 

1 - ROBOT TOUCHING PLATFORM "ONLY" This doesn't mean "all the robot has to do is 
touch the platform."  It means "the only thing the robot can be touching is the platform."  


